Evangelicals Don’t Care for Romney–Surprise!

A new poll by the Barna group shows that Evangelicals are still cool toward Mitt Romney.  There have been general rumblings for years about Romney’s Mormonism.  I myself have been interviewed by several newspapers and other media outlets about Romney’s religious beliefs.  [I am not sure the mainstream media understands the differences between Mormons and Evangelicals, but that is another issue.]

Are you comfortable with a Mormon President?  We may be about to find out.  Romney has surged ahead in some polls…

About Mark Caleb Smith

Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center for Political Studies at Cedarville University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Evangelicals Don’t Care for Romney–Surprise!

  1. Mitchell Schneider says:

    There are many unanswered questions I have concerning this topic… For example:

    Would a Mormon leader be more dangerous to Christians in America than an atheist leader, or a leader who is just not a follower of Christ?

    Is Romney a devout Mormon or is it just a title that he assumes?

    Will Romney try to bring Mormon philosophy into politics? Will he try to create new laws regarding Mormon concepts such as polygamy? I don’t see this happening, and I feel like would it be very hard for a law like that to be passed because of lack of Mormons in the Senate and House…

    In the end, I really don’t know how comfortable I would be with a Mormon president. I know that Mormonism is a cult with some very wrong beliefs, but is worshiping the Mormon Jesus worse then worshiping oneself/America’s general representation of Jesus (which is mostly wrong)? Which of these beliefs can the devil accomplish more harm through?

  2. Vincent Castro says:

    First off many people associate themselves with a particular religion but are very lose followers. I do not believe that Romney is a devout Mormon in the sense most of us think about. Many Mormons consider him somewhat liberal. His voting record on issues such as abortion have not always been the same.

    Almost all presidents have considered themselves “Christians,” but as we see though their stance on many different issues I doubt their all out conviction for being Christ followers. So we cannot vote for someone because what they say, we must look at their stance on issues and their past voting records. Romney’s being a Mormon is a concern for me, but so are his beliefs on other important issues. As a Christian do I want a Christian in office, absolutely, but I don’t know what’s worse a Mormon or a deceiver posing as a Christian.

  3. Melissa Murphy says:

    I think it would be ideal to have a true follower of Jesus Christ as President of this country, but Romney seems to stand for a lot of issues which I believe go hand in hand with the Bible, and I think that is important. God places authority in government and we have obviously seen in the past and even in the president that he has not chosen Christians to lead this country. I am comfortable with a Mormon as President as long as he does not force or discuss his religion with the country.

  4. Grace Eaton says:

    Mormons, like Christians, come in all different packages. I do not know know a whole lot about mormanism, but honestly, I want to hear about his stance on specific issues, not just his religion. I understand that it is impossible for someone to completely leave their religious values outside of their office, but because of the wide variety of opinions among those who call themselves mormans, no one can simply put Romney in that box and assume that all questions about him are answered.

  5. Aaron Niemiec says:

    I was shocked by a few of the findings of the “Barna” organization. A few of the statements they made later on in the article about certain tendencies of religious groups surprised me. I had always thought Catholics to be more conservative. Obviously, I was wrong. Second, I was shocked by the number of protestants who still are very supportive of Obama. I was also shocked, overall, by the way Obama seemed to have control over all four areas they measured. Interesting stuff!

  6. Rachel Eaton says:

    Honestly, I’m not sure. Mormonism isn’t Christianity, and it’s certainly not evangelical Christianity. (Mormons are welcome to try to convince me otherwise, but I’m not buying it.) Yet, as far as social values go, they’re at least similar. You could do worse.
    I think Romney’s level of piousness (if that’s a word) does matter. I think his policy matters more. Prov. 20:11 says that “even a child is known by his actions, by whether his conduct is pure and right.” Romney’s not likely to change how he acts if he enters the White House. So I think it’s important to look at how his Mormonism has (or hasn’t) affected his political actions to date.

  7. I believe that there are going to be a lot of questions that will be developing until Nov 2012. However I believe that there is potential for the US as a whole to be ok with a Mormon president. As we all know the United States has the highest Mormon population which means that if they were going to revolt someway they most likely would have. Also no matter what the religion is, the individuals that follow this religion still keep the laws of the United States meaning that they are just like all of the other American citizens except they practice different lifestyles.

    Would I be ok with a mormon president? I would think that I would be more interested in finding out his plans for America’s future as well as he values and morals.

Leave a comment